Our CCTV campaign is debated by MP’s in Westminster Hall


MP's discuss the issue of CCTV in equine slaughterhouses

CCTV debate

On Tuesday 29th November, the issue of CCTV in equine slaughterhouses was debated in Westminster Hall, thanks to Liz Saville Roberts MP who ensured it.

We were delighted to see over 20 MP’s turn out to discuss the issue with cross party support and would like to thank all of the many World Horse Welfare supporters who wrote to their MP’s asking them to attend.

Liz Saville Roberts MP gave an inspiring opening speech, raising the many benefits of installing CCTV in slaughterhouses for both equine welfare and for slaughterhouse operators themselves. Many MP’s spoke out in support of our campaign for mandatory CCTV in equine slaughterhouses, with a real understanding and empathy for our work in improving horse welfare in the UK.

Defra Minister, George Eustice, gave an encouraging response to the debate in which he said that the Government has not ruled out mandatory CCTV and that it could be brought in under secondary legislation which provides hope that our campaign could see real legislative change.

Whilst this is a fantastic step in our campaign, we still need as many people as possible to show support so please keep signing and sharing our petition to help us secure a full parliamentary debate on the issue which will give this important issue the attention it deserves. Sign here https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/171221

You can read a full transcript of the debate here: https://hansard.digiminster.com/Commons/2016-11-29/debates/A390C501-4257-447B-A30B-76EFCC05583C/EquineSlaughterhouses(CCTV)

MP's who attended the debate listed below:

Mr Martin Docherty MP Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire

Mr George Eustice MP Conservative Camborne and Redruth

Ms Margaret Ferrier MP Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West

Sir Roger Gale MP Conservative North Thanet

Mrs Mary Glindon MP Labour North Tyneside

Mr James Gray MP Conservative North Wiltshire

Lady Sylvia Hermon MP Independent North Down

Mr Simon Hoare MP Conservative North Dorset

Mr Philip Hollobone MP Conservative Kettering

Mr Calum Kerr MP Scottish National Party Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

Mr Julian Knight MP Conservative Solihull

Mrs Anne Main MP Conservative St Albans

Dr Paul Monaghan MP Scottish National Party Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

Mrs Caroline Nokes MP Conservative Romsey and Southampton North

Mr Neil Parish MP Conservative Tiverton and Honiton

Ms Christina Rees MP Labour Neath

Ms Liz Saville Roberts MP Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd

Mr Jim Shannon MP Democratic Unionist Party Strangford

Mr David Simpson MP Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann

Ms Angela Smith MP Labour Penistone and Stocksbridge

Rt Hon Dame Caroline Spelman MP Conservative Meriden

Mr Chris Stephens MP Scottish National Party Glasgow South West

Mr Andrew Turner MP Conservative Isle of Wight